I am currently a HK PhD Fellow at the Department of Media and Communication, City University of Hong Kong. More broadly, I am a former journalist, a scholar in training and a coding aficionado. I have taught undergraduate courses, online and offline, at Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona, Universitat Oberta de Catalunya, Universitat Pompeu Fabra and City University of Hong Kong. In my dissertation I take a multidisciplinary approach (international relations, media and area studies) to study Chinese international broadcasting in Africa using qualitative (interviews, focus groups, observation) and quantitative methodologies (quantitative text analysis, online experiments).

Five (random) facts about me

  1. I can communicate in 7 languages. They are, in order of proficiency, Catalan, Spanish, English, French, Italian, Russian, Japanese and Chinese. If I ever add an eight one to the list, it is likely to be Indonesian.
  2. I am a certified indoor cycling (some might call it spinning) instructor by both Schwinm (Bronze Level) and ANEF, the Spanish Association of Physical Education (Level 2).
  3. At some point in a very distant past, I was a licensed (American) football umpire, although that career path was short-lived.
  4. I enjoy travelling (58 countries and counting), cooking and hiking. I am terrible at singing and even worse at sports.
  5. I worked as a movie extra in Japan. In the movie バルトの楽園 (Ode to Joy) I played a dead soldier in the opening scene and a prisoner later on in the film.

Personal goals

A recap on how I am progressing with some of my current professional and life goals. Not necessarily accurate, but I am trying hard.

Finishing my dissertation
100% Complete
Learning Python
40% Complete
Mastering Chinese
20% Complete
Running 20k
40% Complete (danger)

Dani Madrid-Morales

BA Journalism, UAB

BA East Asian Studies, UPF

MA East Asian Studies, UAB

MA International Relations, FU Berlin

PhD Media and Communication, City University of Hong Kong